Mayo Team Announced

January 27, 2023

Press Release

Mayo GAA senior football manager Kevin McStay has handed league debuts to two players for the opening round of the Allianz National Football league Division 1 game against Galway this Saturday January 28th at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park.  Knockmore's versatile netminder Colm Reape gets his first outing in goals for Mayo after impressing in the FBD Connacht GAA Football League earlier this month.  Jack Coyne from Ballyhaunis also gets his first league start for Mayo at cornerback after a very impressive season with his club in the Mayo GAA Intermediate football championship.  Rory Brickenden from Westport and Enda Hession from Garrymore GAA complete the Mayo full-back line.  Stephen Coen, the redeployed Conor Loftus and Donnacha McHugh make up the Mayo half-back line.  The experienced Matthew Ruane and evergreen Diarmuid O'Connor are named at midfield.  Upfront Westport's Fionn McDonagh, Jack Carney from Kilmeena GAA and Jordan Flynn from Crossmolina Deel Rovers are named in an impressive half-forward line.  The Mayo full-forward line consists of Aiden Orme from Knockmore GAA, James Carr from Ardagh GAA and Ryan O'Donoghue from CLG Béal an Mhuirthead.  Stephen Coen will captain the side against Galway.  Mayo GAA manager Kevin McStay has confirmed that Paddy Durcan from Castlebar Mitchels will captain the Mayo senior football team for the 2023 season with Stephen Coen and Tommy Conroy as vice-captains. This will be Mayo's 49th National League meeting with Galway. Mayo have won 26 leagues and Galway have won 18 and four have been draws. Referee on the day is Cavan's Joe McQuillan. The game this weekend is live on RTÉ Two and Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Martin Carney and regular update across all Mayo GAA social media platforms. Supporters are encouraged to arrive early on Saturday evening.  

Mayo staring 15 as follows:

1 Colm Reape  Knockmore

2 Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis

3 Rory Brickenden Westport

4 Enda Hession Garrymore

5 Stephen Coen Hollymount-Carramore

6 Conor Loftus Crossmolina Deel Rovers

7 Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels

8 Matthew Ruane Breaffy

9 Diarmuid O’Connor Ballintubber

10 Fionn McDonagh Westport

11 Jack Carney  Kilmeena

12 Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers

13 Aiden Orme Knockmore

14 James Carr Ardagh

15 Ryan O'Donoghue Beal an Mhuirthead


Manager: Kevin McStay

Maor Fóirne/Roghnóir: Stephen Rochford

Selectors: Donie Buckley, Liam McHale and Damien Mulligan

©2020 The Neale GAA. Deisgned by Sportlomo.